Brooks Running Company Announces Finalists for 2013 Inspiring Coaches Award

Runners and Community Members to Help Choose Winner Through Online Voting

Seattle – June 18, 2013

Would you give a runner the shoes off your own feet? Run a two-mile warm-up with your team every day while battling lung cancer? Buy team uniforms with your personal coaching stipend? This year’s Brooks Running Company Inspiring Coaches finalists would – and these stories only scratch the surface of these individuals’ passion, dedication and leadership.

Brooks Running Company today recognized the amazing acts of 26 high school track and cross country coaches nationwide by naming them finalists for its 2013 Inspiring Coaches award. In its third year, the Inspiring Coaches program honors high school track and cross country coaches who motivate their teams and communities through meaningful and lasting leadership.

Beginning today, runners, students, families and community members can vote for their favorite 2013 Inspiring Coaches Finalists. The voting period lasts until July 21, 2013, with this year’s most inspiring coach announced on Aug. 7, 2013. Visit to vote for the finalist coaches and learn about their special stories.

“Year after year, we hear about more truly amazing track and cross country coaches,” said Brooks Running Company CEO Jim Weber. “These coaches spark greatness on the run, in the classroom and well beyond high school. Their contributions to young runners and our sport make us proud to give this award each year and share their stories with the running community.”

From thousands of nominations, the following coaches were chosen as 2013 Inspiring Coaches finalists:

  • Coach Allan Lockridge – Pojoaque High School, Santa Fe, N.M.
  • Coach Brandon Beltz – Inland Lakes High School, Indian River, Mich.
  • Coach Chris Cronin – Northville High School, Northville, Mich.
  • Coach Chris McAfee – De Soto High School, De Soto, Kan.
  • Coach Corbin Talley – Davis High School, Kaysville, Utah
  • Coach Danny Weed – Flagler Palm Coast High School, Palm Coast, Fla.
  • Coach Doug Butler – Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy, Melbourne, Fla.
  • Coach Drew Benyo – Jim Thorpe Area High School, Jim Thorpe, Pa.
  • Coach Erica Hill – Mercer Island High School, Mercer Island, Wash.
  • Coach Jeffrey Downin – Marlborough High School, Marlborough, Mass.
  • Coach Jerry Dotson – Cary High School, Cary, N.C.
  • Coach John Hotchkiss – Mission San Jose High School, Fremont, Calif.
  • Coach Justin Torres – Bishop Mora Salesian High School, Los Angeles
  • Coach Kurt Wayton – West Windsor Plainsboro High School, West Windsor, N.J.
  • Coach Larry Buffington – Gayville-Volin High School, Gayville, S.D.
  • Coach Lee Webb – James Logan High School, Union City, Calif.
  • Coach Mike Wright – Milford High School, Milford, N.H.
  • Coach Natalie Krause – New Prairie High School, New Carlisle, Ind.
  • Coach Nate Carpenter – Sacopee Valley High School, Hiram, Maine
  • Coach Nicole Petty – Garfield High School, Seattle
  • Coach Randy Wilson – Central Cambria High School, Ebensburg, Pa.
  • Coach Scott Werner – Westphalia High School, Westphalia, Mich.
  • Coach Stephanie Winkler – Buena Regional High School, Buena, N.J.
  • Coach Steve Grube – Crow High School, Eugene, Ore.
  • Coach Steve O’Brien – Tyee High School, Seatac, Wash.
  • Coach Tauwon Taylor – Moline High School, Moline, Ill.

Brooks will award each finalist:
  • $5,000 in Brooks performance running footwear, apparel and/or accessories for his or her team;
  • $500 cash for additional team expenses; and
  • Membership into the Brooks Inspire Daily (I.D.) program.

The 2013 Inspiring Coach of the Year will also receive:

Brooks Running Company started the Inspiring Coaches program in 2011 as a way to honor the high school track and cross country coaches it hears about every day. Through letters, emails, social media messages and word-of-mouth at races around the country, Brooks hears how these coaches make a lasting, meaningful difference in the lives of countless runners. The Inspiring Coaches award recognizes and celebrates all they do for youth running.

Past recipients of the Brooks Inspiring Coach of the Year Award include 2011 winner Amy Pitzel from Katy Taylor High School in Katy, Texas, and last year’s winner Paul Raley from Benton High School in Benton, Wis.

About Brooks Running Company
Brooks Running Company designs and markets running-specific performance footwear, apparel, and accessories in more than 60 countries worldwide. Brooks’ mission is to inspire everyone to run and be active by creating innovative gear designed to keep runners running longer, farther and faster. Brooks’ mission is supported by its Run Happy philosophy, a quest to celebrate and champion the sport of running and all runners everywhere. Founded 1914, Brooks is a subsidiary of Berkshire Hathaway Inc. and is headquartered in Seattle. Visit for more information or follow us on Twitter (@brooksrunning) and Facebook (

# # #